Brasstracks Presents… ‘Good Kid, Brass City’: Celebrating the 6th Anniversary of Kendrick Lamar’s ‘good kid, m.A.A.d city’

Brasstracks Presents… ‘Good Kid, Brass City’: Celebrating the 6th Anniversary of Kendrick Lamar’s ‘good kid, m.A.A.d city’

After a busy year packed with a headlining tour, an EP release, and a performance at Coachella, Brasstracks reconnects with their inspiration while paying tribute to one of their musical idols in this vibrant cover of Kendrick Lamar’s good kid, m.A.A.d city, released in honor of the 6-year anniversary of Lamar’s seminal album. Aptly named, Good Kid, Brass City marries the braggadocious, big-band, jazzy flare Brasstracks is known for with the genius of Lamar’s album, resulting in a product that is at once grand, nostalgic, meditative, and celebratory. In a video documenting their recording process, the duo explains how the idea came about and what was like to give their take on such an influential work.

“So we were on tour a couple weeks ago and we were listening to Kendrick Lamar’s full discography, and the album that still resonates with the most is Good Kid Maad City. We had the crazy idea to make an ode to Kendrick Lamar from the songs from the album.

Most of the songs on the project have a really healthy relationship between jazz and hip-hop. It was pretty easy for us as jazz musicians turned hip-hop producers, to go into the studio with all of our friends and make some magic happen based on what Kendrick did in 2012. This was honestly just fun for us. If anybody else really digs it, Kendrick hears it or something crazy, that’s just a bonus. Because this was an amazing project for us to do.”

We certainly dig it, and appreciate the authenticity in their connection and devotion to the music. We’ll be looking forward to hearing more from Brasstracks. Until then, check out Good Kid, Brass City at the link above.

NEST HQ MiniMix: Tuff Ghost

NEST HQ MiniMix: Tuff Ghost

A superb selection of tracks from one of LA’s favorite party queens, DJ/Producer Tuff Ghost brought the heat with her latest mini mix which was recently featured on NestHQ. You can listen and dl down below.

From Nest’s Soundcloud:

This week the toughest ghost in LA has cooked up an extremely special and dare I say quite classy mix for us that takes us all over the musical map in style. We’ve written about the Tuff Ghost EP from last year as well as a couple of original singles, but this is her very first mix for us, and better late than never because she is a one-of-a-kind DJ.


1. Brenda Holloway, Every Little Bit Hurts
2. verzache – waiting 4 u
3. Flying Lotus – GNG BNG
4. Tha’ Rayne feat. Joe Budden & Lupe Fiasco – Didn’t You Know (Remix)
5. A Tribe Called Quest – 1nce Again (Bit Funk Remix)
6. Chuurch – Erase The Pain Feat. Blak Trash
7. Bolier-Ipanema (Bart B More Edit)
8 Alex Metric – Freeek (feat. Confessionals)
9. The Chemical Brothers – Another World
10. Rachel Row – Follow The Step (KiNK Beat Mix)
11. Hatiras – Bags ft Isis Salam
12. Ghastly – Everybody (ft. Sam King)
13. AABEL – I Go Deep
14. Ribongia – Shakti
15. Fuck You All The Time – Tuff Ghost BOOTLEG
16. Alison Wonderland x SLUMBERJACK- Sometimes Love
17. What So Not – Beautiful ZEKE BEATS Remix
18. Peekaboo – Arrival
19. Skrillex &Poo Bear – Would You Ever Team EZY Remix


Follow: @tuffghosts

Mixtape: Athletixx (Hoodboi, Kittens, Falcons & Promnite)  – All-Stars Mixtape Vol. 1

Mixtape: Athletixx (Hoodboi, Kittens, Falcons & Promnite) – All-Stars Mixtape Vol. 1

You already know this is some fly shit. Check below to see what Foolsgold had to say about this very fresh mixtape.


The LA crew Athletixx aka Hoodboi, Kittens, Falcons and Promnite just dropped their “All-Stars Mixtape Vol 1.” It is a 32 minute mix packed with remixes, edits and productions by each member of the posse proving that this team is on to something. Stream & download the mix now. Catch Hoodboi b2b with Falcons at this years NY Day Off 9/1 and Hoodboi and Kittens at LA Day Off 10/12. Be on the lookout for new music from Hoodboi on FG and download his Destiny’s Child remix in the Draft Picks ’14 bundle now for free.


Download ⇢

01) Rico Love – They Don’t Know (Hoodboi, Falcons & Kittens Remix)
02) Tory Lanez – Crew (Hoodboi & Falcons Remix)
03) Athletixx All-Stars – Activate Anthem
04) Kittens – Back It Up
05) Falcons – DDB
06) ??? – Drink (Edit)
07) Falcons – Jomanda (DJ Tool)
08) Chris Brown – Loyal (Hoodboi Remix)
09) Patrick Brian – Goldcard
10) Falcons – MyPussy (Skream’s Chords Edition<3)
11) MachineDrum – Back Seat Hoe (Hoodboi Remix)
12) Promnite x Patrick Brian – Varsity Dub
13) Sugar Shane – Kill The Bitch (Promnite Remix)
14) Tink ft. Jermemih – Don’t Tell Nobody (Falcons remix)
15) Drake – All Me (Hoodboi Edit)
16) Hoodboi – Ready Freddy
17) Falcons x Promnite – Riddim 1
18) Promnite – Hot Like Way
19) Promnite – Waddup Riddim
20) Promnite – Make That Go
21) Falcons – Gossip Riddim

Artwork by Mark Bulford